So I started a book club

26 Mar

As a teacher who is lucky enough to have my students for both 7th and 8th grade English, I am able to watch a roller coaster of reading. Students are too busy to read on their own during sports, indulge in great books all year long, binge for a month at a time, or take the summer off. Who knows what you’re going to get with middle schoolers!

I require a minimum of 30 minutes of reading homework per night, and we also have reading days in class. My goal is that when students leave my class and go to high school that they know themselves as readers, have a plan for what they want to read, and, above all else, love reading.

In order to accomplish this goal I’ve spent most of my career defending my middle school students’ right to read books of their choice, to read on their own, and to read what is of interest to them.

I’m starting to reconsider.

I have an exceptional group of 8th graders this year, and many of them absolutely love to read. But they weren’t reading, at least not like they used to. I heard excuses about being busy with sports or drama or anything else that is important as an 8th grader. The only problem is that these things weren’t taking away from their reading before now.

I started throwing around the idea of a book club to my 8th graders – something completely optional during lunch. Students would choose the book, how much we read, and when we meet. They could even go get dessert if that was the deal breaker!

Well it worked. I have nine of our thirty 8th graders, a gym teacher, and me in my room during lunch at least once a week. We discuss the things that they see in books: characters, plot, questions, and their beliefs. The social aspect of reading is something that we clearly crave like this NYT article explores.

With all of the benefits, the best part is that I now have those students who love to read loving to read again! It is so clear that reading is contagious because now these book club members are checking out more books when they don’t want to get ahead of the book club. Their passion has been reignited!

The way I see it is that I could spend time complaining about my students lack of reading, or I could do something about it.

Mission accomplished.

One Response to “So I started a book club”

  1. madeyemoodyproductions March 28, 2014 at 10:21 am #

    What a great idea! Your students are lucky to have you!

Leave a Reply

